No one over a certain age could ever forget Dave’s epic documentary, Block Party. In the summer of 2004, Dave Chappelle was followed by camera crews culminating in a massive Brooklyn block party which featured many of Hip Hop and Neo Soul’s shining stars. Block Party is now a cult fave in the concert documentary realm and while his recently announced second residency at Radio City Music Hall features many of today’s top artists, there are also a few dates and guests that will probably throw you back into mid 2000’s nostalgia.

Starting his Radio City Music Hall run August 1st, Dave brings long time collaborators, The Roots, back for the first four nights of the residency. I wouldn’t expect anything less being that Dave calls them “one of the most innovative bands in Hip Hop history”. Nostalgia reappears on August 9th , when Erykah Badu is slated to take the stage alongside Dave in between dates of her Badu Vs. Everythang Tour.

As if it wasn’t hard enough to pick between those two when selecting tickets, Dave Chappelle has also enlisted the likes of Childish Gambino, Chance the Rapper, Yasiin Bey, Ms. Lauryn Hill and even an undisclosed special guest on August 15th (full lineup below). In addition to musical performers some of Dave’s shows will feature other comedians like Trevor Noah, Ali Wong, and comic heavyweight Chris Rock.

Check out one of Dave’s recent interviews on the Breakfast Club where he discusses his Radio City Music Hall residency as well his thoughts on Bill Cosby and the passing of Charlie Murphy…

Full Residency Lineup:

August 1st -4th: The Roots
August 5th-6th: Chris Rock
August 9th: Erykah Badu
August 15th: A Very Special Guest
August 17th: Chance The Rapper
August 18th: Trevor Noah
August 19th: Childish Gambino
August 20th: Ms. Lauryn Hill
August 23rd: Yasiin Bey
August 24th: Ali Wong


written by ViV

– Rapper and Mary Jane enthusiast, Wiz Khalifa, remixes Childish Gambino’s “Redbone” instrumental and cleverly names it “ Stay Stoned ”.

The smooth Ludwig Göransson produced beat seems to have been too enticing for Wiz Khalifa to stay away from. After all, while Wiz Khalifa has definitely been experimenting with newer, “trappier”, uptempo sounds in recent years, he’s always hit the sweet spot when tinkering with more soulful production.

Wiz finds himself boasting about his current status in “Stay Stoned”, but oddly enough, he doesn’t sound arrogant based on the fact that he speaks in terms of overcoming a mountain of obstacles to get where he is – both past and present. He also, of course, touches on his love for good bud with lines such as those in the hook – “I stay stoned ‘cause weed is legal”.

See what you think of Wiz’s remix right here…

Written by DJ Robinson

Thundercat isn’t a household name quite yet, but with his prodigious talent, superstar co-signs, and a Grammy under his belt it would be wise to hop on the bandwagon now rather than later. The 25 year old bass guitarist, producer, and singer has worked with top-notch artists such as Erykah Badu, Childish Gambino, Vic Mensa, Mac Miller, Flying Lotus, and Ty Dolla Sign while earning his Grammy from work he did on Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly.

Now, Kendrick Lamar is returning the favor as he lends a helping hand to Thundercat’s upcoming project, Drunk. Alongside K-Dot, we will have features from Pharrell, Wiz, and Classic Rock/R&B artists Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins. Of the featured artists, Thundercat recently expressed the most excitement about working with Pharrell during a XXL interview when he said, “He’s been my hero since I was a young kid . . . and I got a chance to tell him that”.

Drunk is set to be released on February 24th and will be Thundercat’s first project since 2015’s The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam.

Thundercat has also released the single “Show You The Way” and an official track listing for Drunk. You can check out both below.

  1. “Rabbot Ho”
  2. “Captain Stupido”
  3. “Uh Uh”
  4. “Bus in These Streets”
  5. “A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)”
  6. “Lava Lamp”
  7. “Jethro”
  8. “Day and Night”
  9. “Show You The Way” Feat. Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins
  10. “Walk on By” Feat. Kendrick Lamar
  11. “Blackkk”
  12. “Tokyo”
  13. “Jameel’s Space Ride”
  14. “Friend Zone”
  15. “Them Changes”
  16. “Where I’m Going”
  17. “Drink Dat” Feat. Wiz Khalifa
  18. “Inferno”
  19. “I Am Crazy”
  20. “3AM”
  21. “Drunk”
  22. “The Turn Down” Feat. Pharrell
  23. “DUI”