— One year after the passing of Hip-Hop icon, Mac Miller, a celebration of his life will take place in his favorite Pittsburgh park.

The untimely death of Mac Miller in September 2018 sent instant shockwaves throughout the entire music industry. While Mac was one of the most gifted artists of our time, his jovial spirit and genuine personality were completely unmatched. So, it’s only right that he be formally celebrated on the first anniversary of his passing.

On September 7th, many will gather in Pittsburgh’s Frick Park, A.K.A ‘Blue Slide Park’, to honor the life of Mac Miller. The event will start at 12pm and there will be music and videos of Mac being played throughout.

For those who may not remember, Blue Slide Park is a Pittsburgh park that Mac Miller frequented as a youngster. It is also the title of his 2011 debut album.

Rest Easy, Mac.

― Dreamville’s J.I.D. has come has delivered on his promise to drop new music with the release of his latest single, “151 Rum”, ahead of his sophomore album.

Early last week, the East Atlanta rapper hinted at dropping a single to kick off the rollout of his highly anticipated DiCaprio 2 project. The single, titled “151 Rum”, was produced by Nice Rec & Christo and perfectly showcases J.I.D.’s otherworldly lyrical ability.

In a recent Instagram post regarding the upcoming album, J.I.D. shared some thoughts on his growth and what you can expect from the project. He says,

“This project isn’t like the nevrr story or anything u heard from me b4, it isn’t my gkmc or whatever else your are expecting it to be “headass”lol its not what I expected it to be but I love it and I appreciate the journey it took me through to get me here, each song feels like a individual film to me”

He also shared that that Mac Miller handled most of the post-production and that he was set to open up for Miller’s Swimming Tour as he stated,

“Mac came thru and helped post produce and organize on almost every song on here, I worked on being a better writer, even outside of punchlines and shit, like I can rap all fuckn day but I like writing songs and shit too, whatever, like I really just challenged my self to becoming better, period,”

It looks like J.I.D has a monster album on the way―maybe even an underrated contender for Album of the Year. Only time will tell though. In the meantime enjoy “151 Rum” on all streaming platforms now.

Thundercat isn’t a household name quite yet, but with his prodigious talent, superstar co-signs, and a Grammy under his belt it would be wise to hop on the bandwagon now rather than later. The 25 year old bass guitarist, producer, and singer has worked with top-notch artists such as Erykah Badu, Childish Gambino, Vic Mensa, Mac Miller, Flying Lotus, and Ty Dolla Sign while earning his Grammy from work he did on Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly.

Now, Kendrick Lamar is returning the favor as he lends a helping hand to Thundercat’s upcoming project, Drunk. Alongside K-Dot, we will have features from Pharrell, Wiz, and Classic Rock/R&B artists Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins. Of the featured artists, Thundercat recently expressed the most excitement about working with Pharrell during a XXL interview when he said, “He’s been my hero since I was a young kid . . . and I got a chance to tell him that”.

Drunk is set to be released on February 24th and will be Thundercat’s first project since 2015’s The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam.

Thundercat has also released the single “Show You The Way” and an official track listing for Drunk. You can check out both below.

  1. “Rabbot Ho”
  2. “Captain Stupido”
  3. “Uh Uh”
  4. “Bus in These Streets”
  5. “A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)”
  6. “Lava Lamp”
  7. “Jethro”
  8. “Day and Night”
  9. “Show You The Way” Feat. Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins
  10. “Walk on By” Feat. Kendrick Lamar
  11. “Blackkk”
  12. “Tokyo”
  13. “Jameel’s Space Ride”
  14. “Friend Zone”
  15. “Them Changes”
  16. “Where I’m Going”
  17. “Drink Dat” Feat. Wiz Khalifa
  18. “Inferno”
  19. “I Am Crazy”
  20. “3AM”
  21. “Drunk”
  22. “The Turn Down” Feat. Pharrell
  23. “DUI”