– Rapper and Mary Jane enthusiast, Wiz Khalifa, remixes Childish Gambino’s “Redbone” instrumental and cleverly names it “ Stay Stoned ”.

The smooth Ludwig Göransson produced beat seems to have been too enticing for Wiz Khalifa to stay away from. After all, while Wiz Khalifa has definitely been experimenting with newer, “trappier”, uptempo sounds in recent years, he’s always hit the sweet spot when tinkering with more soulful production.

Wiz finds himself boasting about his current status in “Stay Stoned”, but oddly enough, he doesn’t sound arrogant based on the fact that he speaks in terms of overcoming a mountain of obstacles to get where he is – both past and present. He also, of course, touches on his love for good bud with lines such as those in the hook – “I stay stoned ‘cause weed is legal”.

See what you think of Wiz’s remix right here…

Written by DJ Robinson

Thundercat isn’t a household name quite yet, but with his prodigious talent, superstar co-signs, and a Grammy under his belt it would be wise to hop on the bandwagon now rather than later. The 25 year old bass guitarist, producer, and singer has worked with top-notch artists such as Erykah Badu, Childish Gambino, Vic Mensa, Mac Miller, Flying Lotus, and Ty Dolla Sign while earning his Grammy from work he did on Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly.

Now, Kendrick Lamar is returning the favor as he lends a helping hand to Thundercat’s upcoming project, Drunk. Alongside K-Dot, we will have features from Pharrell, Wiz, and Classic Rock/R&B artists Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins. Of the featured artists, Thundercat recently expressed the most excitement about working with Pharrell during a XXL interview when he said, “He’s been my hero since I was a young kid . . . and I got a chance to tell him that”.

Drunk is set to be released on February 24th and will be Thundercat’s first project since 2015’s The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam.

Thundercat has also released the single “Show You The Way” and an official track listing for Drunk. You can check out both below.

  1. “Rabbot Ho”
  2. “Captain Stupido”
  3. “Uh Uh”
  4. “Bus in These Streets”
  5. “A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)”
  6. “Lava Lamp”
  7. “Jethro”
  8. “Day and Night”
  9. “Show You The Way” Feat. Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins
  10. “Walk on By” Feat. Kendrick Lamar
  11. “Blackkk”
  12. “Tokyo”
  13. “Jameel’s Space Ride”
  14. “Friend Zone”
  15. “Them Changes”
  16. “Where I’m Going”
  17. “Drink Dat” Feat. Wiz Khalifa
  18. “Inferno”
  19. “I Am Crazy”
  20. “3AM”
  21. “Drunk”
  22. “The Turn Down” Feat. Pharrell
  23. “DUI”

Wiz Khalifa’s Taylor Gang label has slowly been getting larger. However, Khalifa seems to prefer quality over quantity with artists like Juicy J, Ty Dolla $ign, Berner, Project Pat, and Chevy Woods on the roster (not to mention TM88, Ricky P, and Sledgren on production). Now, he has recruited another Pennsylvania native to the gang.

On Thursday night, at Lil Uzi Vert’s “A Very Uzi Christmas” show in Philly, Wiz Khalifa made a surprise appearance, but, oddly enough, that wasn’t the highlight of the night. The climax came when Wiz began boasting about the star-studded Taylor Gang collective before gifting Uzi with a “Taylor Gang” chain and making the announcement:

Taylor Gang, we got Lil Uzi Vert now. Welcome to the motherfuckin’ gang. Thank you for bringing me out to Philly. Thank you for being the most influential young nigga.

After collaborating on the hit single “Pull Up”, Wiz and Uzi clearly share some chemistry. Furthermore, Wiz Khalifa has a lot of experience being young, wild, and free – much like Lil Uzi Vert – which may come with some well-respected guidance.

Written by DJ Robinson